Skip to content

Training Day

October 24th & 25th, 2009 will be the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer in Charlotte, NC. I have volunteered to work as a Crew Member for this event.

I participated in the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer in 2003 – back when it was a 3-Day Walk. I walked 60 miles from Kenosha, WI to Chicago, IL – and ever since I have wanted to be involved again, whenever possible. Well, long story short… life happens, years have gone by… and now here I am. The Avon Walk for Breast Cancer is now a 2-Day event where Walkers (about 1500 for the Charlotte event), will walk a marathon on Saturday and a half marathon on Sunday, for a total of 39.3 miles.

As a Crew Member, I will be there for the entire weekend. The Crew doesn’t just volunteer for a few hours…. We will be there from start to finish, to help make the weekend a success. From long before sunrise to way past sunset, we will be there. Some of the crew even camps out with the Walkers! Having had that experience already when I was a Walker, I decided not to stay in a tent this year. I will be looking forward to coming home to my hot shower, my warm man and my cozy bed, if only for a few hours on Saturday night.

This past Saturday, I attended Crew Training for the event. There are 250 Crew Members, and 8 Youth Crew Members; as well as local volunteers that will donate a few hours here and there, working the event. It is quite the undertaking! However, I’d say there were only about 60 of us who made it out to the drizzly Training Day last weekend at Park Road Park.   

I convinced my Mom to work as a Crew Member with me… Breast Cancer has touched both of our lives, as my Gram (my maternal grandmother), is a 16 year Breast Cancer survivor. I know my Mom was a little cautious and skeptical at first working this (it is a HUGE commitment, and a lot of work), but I know she left training as energized as I am for the event. My Mom even said that we should have chosen to tent with the Walkers! Crazy woman!

Instead of walking, the Crew provides all the support for the Walkers…everything from manning the Rest Stops, to serving food, to cleaning up, to hauling gear. Mom and I are on the Hospitality Team… it is our job to work the finish line, checking in the Walkers. Our team’s theme this year is Mardi Gras. (Goes well with the boobs theme, no?). We will be passing out beads that we purchased with our own money, and cheering in the Walkers as they cross the line. (We also have a lot of other responsibilities, as the Crews motto is “Crew First, Team Second” – meaning we all will do whatever it takes to make the event happen).

I am REALLY excited to be able to participate in this incredible event.

If you’d like to learn more about this event, please visit my page:  http://www.avonwalk.org/goto/abb

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

