Skip to content

Bye-bye October…

Wow. October was a bit of a blur. It’s nearly over, and I don’t have much to show for it. We did not yet make it to a corn maze as I had hoped… we just ran out of time.  I am still trying to get our framed Ireland photos hung (they’ve been propped up against the wall for weeks now).  I have managed the bare minimum of decor for Halloween (I’d like to do more), but I don’t have enough hours in the day.

The new baby was born on Oct 9th, and since then my work life has been a bit of a blur. (Photos of Grace are on my Flick site). Things are going to be a bit wonky there for me, until January (when S’s maternity leave ends). It is definitely taking some getting used to for me, as I am not used to having to schedule my days with J (50+ hours a week) around anyone else. Not to mention that J has just moved from two naps a day, to one. Inevitable and not unexpected, (he will be 2 years old next week, afterall!), just difficult to get used to on top of everything else right now, and exhausting.
My plan is to hit the bed tonight at 9pm (which is about 2 and a half hours earlier than normal), leaving the DVR to record my beloved Project Runway – but we’ll see what happens. I always manage to talk myself out of an early bedtime by the time it rolls around!

This weekend is the AVON Walk for Breast Cancer, which means absolutely no sleep for me! My Mom and I are working the event, for charity, and it is VERY intense.  Call times for us are 5 a.m. on Saturday, until 8 or 9pm; and 6 a.m. on Sunday until 4 p.m or so. A tired zombie I will be, I have no doubt. I am looking forward to it of course, but wish it was still a weekend away – so that I could catch up on my sleep beforehand!

The first week of November Tristan and I are off to San Francisco for 5 days to celebrate my 31st birthday! Neither of us have been there before, or to California for that matter. To be honest, SF is the only part of California that really interests me. I’ve been hard at work planning the trip, and booked our tickets out to Alcatraz last night. We are both very much looking forward to getting away! Can’t wait!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. The last time we went to SF we wanted go to Alcatraz, but had not gotten tickets before we went, so didn’t get to go. Next time we’ll know better.

    November 17, 2009
  2. When we arrived at Alcatraz Landing for our tour on a Saturday, the next available boat out was on Tuesday afternoon! I couldn’t believe how busy it was, even in November! Who knew?

    November 20, 2009

Leave a Reply

