Skip to content

Farmers Market Finds

I adore my local Farmers Market… and try to do as much of my shopping there, as possible. Lately the farmers have been in that in-between season, with not many crops to bring to market. However, I found plenty to buy this past weekend, as you can see!

Quite the bounty!

I purchased… two small eggplants, green beans, 2 large chicken breasts, arugula, kale, apples, white grits and yellow cornmeal, eggs, two green tomatoes, goat cheese and a green pepper.

 This looks like an awful lot of stuff for someone who will only been in town for another week, doesn’t it? Yep. Kinda forgot to factor that into my purchasing choices. Oh well, most of it has been used by now; and what doesn’t get used will get passed along to my Mom when we leave town.  

With some of our Farmers Market goodies, I made us a “Southern Fried Dinner” on Sunday night… inspired by our recent trip to Charleston, SC. I made the BEST fried green tomatoes I’ve ever made! (thanks to that local cornmeal purchased at the market on Saturday), I also made Grits and Roasted Vegetables, along with whole wheat biscuits. Everything was homemade, and as local and fresh as possible. Dee-licious.

 Fall has arrived, in my kitchen, if not outside. Over the weekend I was loving the cooler temps (it was pretty cold at the market!), but now this week it has been in the 80s again. What gives?! (and btw – how can people not believe in global warming?? it boggles my mind). Back when I was a kid, October FELT like fall.

Anyhow, in the hopes that fall comes back to us, we had squash for 3 dinners in a row this week, in one way or another…

There was my Stuffed Acorn Squash, my Butternut Squash soup and the Grits with Roasted Veggies. Yum, yum.

The crops in my fall garden are another story… I have cabbage worms out the wazoo; and no matter what I do, I can’t seem to get rid of them. The only thing they aren’t eating/don’t like in my garden, is my Swiss Chard. All of my Brassicas look like swiss cheese! 😦

Thankfully my lettuces (in containers) are spared as well. True to their name, the little fat green worms just go for the cabbage-like crops. I’m certain they will go to town on my garden while I am gone; but there isn’t much I can do about that. I’ve sprayed, I’ve picked them off and killed them (too many times to count!), etc, etc. Nothing works. What’s a girl to do when all she wants is to grow her own brussel sprouts? Gah. I will definitely have to re-think my fall garden plan for next year.

 Of course this week there has been more drama on the personal front…  if something is going to happen to me (and it does, and often!), it is going to happen at THE most inopportune time. I cracked a tooth on Tuesday evening, eating Trader Joe’s cinnamon almonds! Damn you, TJs! I had it fixed on Wednesday, but I was definitely sweating the situation a bit, with our upcoming holiday. Apparently it was an old, (like 15 years old), filling that cracked and took part of my tooth with it. Delightful. According to the Dentist, it wasn’t that big of a deal. However, to me, it was. Streeeessssss.

On the agenda – packing like a madwoman! We fly off in the morning!!! 🙂

~

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. I wonder if you are on your trip now. If so, I know you are having a wonderful time.

    Enviously,

    Dona

    October 28, 2010
    • Thanks Dona. We WERE there then… we went the 23rd – 30th. 🙂

      November 15, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Homey Cinco de Mayo « Musings of a violet monkey

Leave a Reply

