Skip to content

First snow!

At the Farmers Market on Saturday morning, we saw snow!

Okay, okay, so it was light.

Very. Light.

P1030647

Can you see the tiny flake?

 

But still. It was snow. Bigger flakes than this were falling, but they were melting as soon as they touched anything. It was all I could do to (barely) focus the camera and snap the photo before it melted!

That same day we also had some freezing rain, and hail! It was a crazy Saturday, weather-wise.

I was very productive in the kitchen on Sunday… and managed to knock out a loaf of whole wheat honey banana bread (thanks to 2 overripe bananas sitting in the fruit basket), a batch of my granola,  African peanut stew (for lunches during the week),  hummus, and finally whole wheat pizza for dinner. (I am still working on getting all of my recipes up on here, to share). I had a couple of other things on the agenda that got bumped, thanks to a quick trip to Kohl’s to spend my Kohl’s Cash (free money!) and a latte and chat session with my Mom.  My homemade dog treats will have to wait until later this week… Sorry Lilly!

It is c-c-c-cold here… so anything besides taking the dog out for a quick walk or playtime is just not happening! It was 18 degrees this morning! I actually like the fall and winter, and would rather be cold than hot any day. But still. This is NC. We aren’t used to this. I have lost my Illinois blood, and am now a wussie Southerner in that regard (as much as it pains me to admit). Brrrr. I need to get back into the habit of using the treadmill, now that it is officially winter weather in the Queen City.

This is going to be a good week… I’m already on day #2 of a 4 day week this week. I have Friday off from work, woo! It’s very out of the ordinary, but certainly no complaints here! Christmas shopping and decorating awaits! 

~

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. carascravings #

    It snowed today for the first time this season in Korea.
    I love it…it looks so beautiful!

    December 8, 2010
  2. I’ve never seen snow before, so I would have been happy to see that tiny flake! That banana bread sounds great, do you have a recipe? 🙂

    December 8, 2010
    • Absoutely! I’ve just added it my recipe page, “The Eats”… 🙂

      I’m working on getting all of my recipes up there, hopefully by the end of the year! Enjoy!

      ~

      December 9, 2010
  3. Snow’s such a beautiful sight no matter how little or much there is!! Well..ok, there can be TOO much but it’d take a lot. 😉

    December 14, 2010
    • I grew up in IL, but now live in NC where we don’t see much snow. We might have a couple of snow days a year, with nothing more than 2 or 3 inches (at best!). And that is usually only because everyone here completely freaks out when it snows. Bad Charlotte drivers become oh so much worse.
      So, yes. I miss snow. Greatly.
      Or so I think that I do. If I had to go back and live in Illinois again… that mentality might change, and quick!

      We’re supposed to have a wintry mix in the morning tomorrow… just in time for rush-hour traffic.

      ~

      December 15, 2010

Leave a Reply

