Skip to content

Boxing Day Blizzard!

Okay, not *really* a blizzard. But we woke up a beautiful snowy wonderland on December 26th. It was a LOT of snow for us in Charlotte, especially at the end of the year (our snow, if ever, usually comes in Jan-March). By my best estimations, we had about 3.5 inches.

I love snow.

I miss snow.

I grew up in central Illinois, and winter just isn’t winter, without some snow.  The Charlotte area doesn’t always agree with me (case in point, it was 67* yesterday!). I, however, like my seasons to be seasons.

Needless to say, I was thrilled when I woke up early on Boxing Day to discover our backyard covered in fluffy white clouds of snow! I headed out asap with my camera, and instructed Tristan to keep Lilly inside until I had some good shots. I knew once she was set loose in the backyard, things would never be the same.

I snapped photos of the trees, the fence, my garden… the snow was very wet, and fell at an angle so there were all sorts of lovely little drifts here and there. I loved the way it stuck to every crevice of our fence…

 

We let Lilly loose and played for what seemed like hours! She was hilarious to watch, running around, pawing at the snow drifts. She found her ball buried under the snowfall at some point. This was not her first snow… she experienced it for the first time back in March when she was just a wee pup. I wonder if she remembered it? By the way, I think she ate her body weight in snow this time!

Don’t be a stranger, snow. Come again soon!

~

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Aw, so funny about Lilly eating her weight in snow! Also, your pictures are BEAUTIFUL! What kind of camera do you use?!! You seem to be really skilled with it! PS. I think we are supposed to be getting snow sometime soon… at least that is what the news is sayin’ 🙂

    January 5, 2011
  2. Thanks, Allison.
    I have a DSLR for “important” photos (basically whenver I feel like lugging it around!). It’s a Nikon D40, and I have two lenses for it. These snowy pics were taken with the Nikon.

    I also have a point-n-shoot, carry everywhere camera… which is a Panansonic Lumix. I did my research and debated the merits of a point-n-shoot – but honestly, I am loving it. It’s a really nice camera for the size, and I love having it around. There is no hassle involved with it. 🙂

    At some point I am going to get around to making a photography/camera page on here with info that I’ve learned over the years.

    ~

    January 20, 2011
  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life) #

    Whee, such wonderful snow pictures! 😀

    February 10, 2011

Leave a Reply

