Skip to content

We all make mistakes

And I sure made a doozy of one this morning.

I started drinking “Green Monsters” at the start of the new year. I have known about them for a long time, but just never got around to putting spinach in my smoothies. Well, I’m hooked on my version of a “Classic Green Monster” now, and have been drinking one just about every morning for a couple of weeks. However, this morning I work up feeling the tiniest *start* of a cold coming on (the kids I work with have been sniffling and coughing for almost a month now!), and I wanted to try to up the vitamin content of my GM. Enter a packet of Amazing Grass Choco Superfood. In the interest of full disclosure – I have tried this before in chocolate milk, and it was very tolerable. I won’t say that I loved it or anything. But tolerable, yes. More so than I expected. However, putting the packet into my morning GM – BIG MISTAKE. It tastes just awful. I have been sipping on it all morning, off and on, trying to get it down. It tastes like I am sucking on a multi-vitamin!

I’m going to finish it. I’ll be damned if I am going to waste it – and hey, it’s part of my breakfast and I don’t have any other options now. But… blergh. I WON’T be making that mistake again.

Into the blender it goes...

Angie’s Green Monster

1 heaping TBSP of Flax Meal
1 c. 2% organic milk
2 c. baby spinach (raw, and tightly packed)
1 frozen banana
handful of ice cubes

Blend your little heart out, and drink up. It’s quite tasty. Honestly. Just leave out the Superfood.

SUCH a pretty green color!

 

 

Green Monster, on the go

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Cara Craves... #

    Oh no!
    I have not tried any Amazing Grass products, but I can
    imagine! Bleck!

    January 14, 2011
  2. I know how difficult it is to drink a green monster that doesn’t taste good, I tried a few combinations in the past that tasted horrible and I almost cried drinking them.

    January 18, 2011
  3. Can I just say that I love the name of your blog?? Thanks for stopping by my blog, I love how having a blog helps you find so many new awesome blogs to read!

    January 20, 2011
  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) #

    Yikes, such food experiences are the worst! And I’m pretty sure we’ve ALL had them! Congratulations on being brave and drinking it anyway! 😀

    I really like green smoothies and drink a lot of them. They make me feel really good. I’ve experimented with cinnamon, mint, basil, and ginger in them, and liked it a lot. Also, I make them with almond milk (dairy intolerant) instead of cow’s milk. Yours looks very good! You also seem to have a fine blender. Frozen banana is yummy, I should it more often!

    February 10, 2011

Leave a Reply

