Skip to content

The Walking Dead

(and TMI…)

 I’ve been MIA lately, or rather, M-I-N-A (Missing in NON-action). I haven’t been up to much, beside trying not to die. Okay, so that is a tad extremely dramatic. But it has been a rough 2 weeks…

I haven’t been posting b/c I don’t have anything interesting to say…. Or the energy to say it, even if I did. I’m fighting a UTI/kidney infection. Not very well, I might add.

 I finished one five-day course of my 2nd antibiotic. (My first one, Bactrim, had NASTY side-effects that I didn’t enjoy. I quit it after 2 doses, and went back for a second option.  However, on the last couple of days on my 2nd antibiotic, Cipro, I had some nasty side-effects as well. Apparently I am allergic to both of those meds. Fun, fun).  Before this ordeal, I can’t tell you the last time I was on an antibiotic. It’s been a looooong time, and it was probably a Z-pak for a sinus infection. I haven’t had a UTI in probably 8 or 9 years; but I recall one self-diagnosed bout with one while living in England; which I knocked-out on my own with cranberry/herbal remedies; so this is all new to me, again. As it stands now, I am on my THIRD antibiotic, Macrobid, for 7 days and really hoping that this finally knocks the infection on its ass.  My body does NOT like taking antibiotics. This is painfully clear. But, I don’t have any other options.

Another not so great aspect of all of this is that I am also having all sorts of back pain that has me Googling more serious kidney issues like mad. I’ve been to the Minute Clinic once, and my Dr.’s office twice. I have yet another appointment already scheduled for next Thursday, to hopefully tell me that everything is back to normal.  We shall see. Up until this, I have had a rather healthy winter; but spending so much time in germ-infested Doctor’s offices and waiting rooms, has me wanting to take extra good care of myself. I’ve been trying to keep up the fruit and veg, and green monsters, too. And Emergen-C (which pretty much goes against most of my rules – but I SWEAR by it). I’ve also been told to lay off the treadmill for the duration of this, which is driving me crazy. I feel like if I could get some exercise in, I would have more energy, ya know?

I have been keeping up with everyone’s blogs but not contributing much myself. I just feel blah. I’m too miserable to write anything clever or remotely interesting.

Keep in mind – this is a work-through-the-pain and ickiness kind of illness.  I haven’t taken a sick day from work throughout all of this – and have been at my job every day alive and kicking. Well, alive anyways.

To add insult to injury, I have been told to stay off alcohol for the duration of this ordeal. I so enjoy my glass of wine after a hard day of work to help me unwind, so I’m extremely pouty about this as well.  😦

Happy it is the weekend? Yes-indeedy! Tonight my sweetie has offered to get Mellow Mushroom take-out for dinner. Nothing a little Kosmic Karma can’t fix, right?

I promise to be back with more next week, as I start to feel better…

~

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Aww, I’m so sorry that you aren’t feeling well. I really hope that you get better soon! It totally sucks to feel so run down and unmotivated when sick. 😦

    February 5, 2011
  2. Oh no — feel better!

    February 5, 2011
  3. Bah, I’ve been sick, too, but not nearly as sick as you. Holy smokes! I just started penicillin yesterday and am bummed to be missing my evening wine as well. Are you taking probiotics? I absolutely have to take probiotics when I’m on penicillin.

    February 5, 2011
  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) #

    This sounds really awful! I wish you all the best for a quick recovery!

    February 10, 2011

Leave a Reply

