Skip to content

Loving Lilly

I wanted to post this last weekend, but I was too busy dying. I’m still sick, but with moments of lucidity thrown in for good measure. In fact, I now have a horrible cold on top of everything else (thanks Medrol Dospak!), and am scheduled for a CT scan tomorrow. Funzies.

Last weekend (February 6th, to be exact!) was our 1 year anniversary of adopting Lilly. And yet, I have try reaaaaaally hard to try to remember a time when we didn’t have her. Oh wait, come to think of it, there was a time that I didn’t feel the urge to vacuum  Every. Single. Day.

Here was our first glimpse of the lovely little one that was going to WORM her way into our hearts.

This was her photo on the Humane Society website that I fell in love with immediately. I looked at it every day for a week, and then fretted about someone else adopting her before we could get there on the weekend. Her name at the Humane Society was “Precious”… which… ick. While she was indeed precious, I am not that girl. So we hemmed and hawed trying to think of an appropriate name for her. We tried lots of Irish place names (as we had taken a trip to Ireland together not long before), but those only seem to work for boys, not girls. Hrmph. Then we thought about her coloring, and the fact that we had a trip to Greece in the pipeline for later that year (or so we thought – thanks Greek economy! Tis okay though, we ended up in Jamaica that fall. Not too shabby).

We settled on Lillith, which means “Of the darkness” in Greek. It sounds kinda dark, I suppose. But then, T and I are kinda dark. Sometimes. Plus, she’s mostly black. It just works. And I’m allll about shortened nicknames, and have always loved the name Lilly. So, Lilly she is.  

The day we met her, is the day we brought her home. We went to visit her, played with her in the playyard, went to lunch while our application was being reviewed, found out we were approved, came back and took her home the same afternoon. It was all so quick! She shivered and shook on the way home in the backseat with me, and I fell a little bit more in love with her.

Here is a photo from the day we brought her home. This is outside in our front yard, she hadn’t even been inside the house  yet…

Checking out me and my camera

First bath!

Throughout the year we’ve had a lot of fun watching her grow… playing in the snow… nosing around in my garden, playing with her pool, making new friends, and destroying LOTS of toys. Thankfully, toys are all she really ever destroys. (But seriously if my 44 lb Aussie can destroy the EXTREME KONG, wtf do other bigger dogs chew/play with!?!?!)

She was so tiny!

In the snow, February 2010

In the snow, December 2010

Trying out the pool, with Bella

March 2010

September 2010

I think she likes it here…

Stealing my side of the couch!

Mmmm, stick!

I think we’ll keep her.

We love her so.

Puppy kisses!

 

~

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Cease and desist! I will not look at another photo of a cute puppy for fear of running to the humane society and getting one of our own.

    Oh she’s adorable!

    My son wondered the other day why we never got a dog. We had no good answer for him.

    February 15, 2011
    • Ha, ha… If you think that was bad, you should have seen the bazillion other cute pics of her that didn’t make the cut. I had such a hard time choosing… I didn’t want to overload the Internet with cuteness! 😉

      You can always still get a dog…
      My parents thought they were through with pets, and then they happened upon someone who found Bella, and was trying to get her a good home. They are totally “grandparent” dog parents this time around… there are not near as many rules for Bella, as the animals that we grew up with. She gets away with murder! It is hilarious to see.

      ~

      PS – sorry to hear about your cat, Joe. 😦

      February 15, 2011
  2. I love the name! And puppy kisses are really the best ever!! I still remember when we first adopted our puppy – seems like forever – forever enough to not keep calling him a puppy!

    February 21, 2011
  3. Omg those puppy pics are insanely adorable!!!

    March 12, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Blog Bake Sale! « Musings of a violet monkey

Leave a Reply

