Skip to content

In it to END it

Oops, I did it again.

I am once again a Crew Member for the AVON 2-day Walk for Breast Cancer, in Charlotte.

my crew

My Crew!

I’ve Crewed in Charlotte before, and loved the experience. In 2009 my Mom and I crewed together. We met a lot of great people, and had a fabulous and exhausting weekend. Crewing is a HUGE commitment. We were tired. Very tired. We were wet. We were emotional. We were exhilarated!

As Crew Members (as opposed to walkers), we are not “required” to fundraise… but why on earth wouldn’t I? I want to do all I can to help stamp-out cancer in my lifetime! You can find my fundraising site here, if you are interested. I’ve just gotten started, and have set a very modest goal, but I’d love to surpass it!

There are two big players in the Breast Cancer walk area… AVON being one, and Susan G Komen being the other.

If you’d like to learn more about the Susan G Komen 3-day walks (in different cities from the AVON walks) that are being held around the country this year, please visit my good friend Betsy’s fundraising page. She is participating (as a WALKER! Go Bets!) in the Washington DC event in September. I’m so proud of her, and everyone that does either of these walks. They are intense! I know just how intense, from personal experience.

I participated in a 3-day walk with AVON about 10 years ago. We walked 60 MILES  from Kenosha, WI to Chicago, IL. In June. Wind, rain and lots of heat… that’s what I remember. I chose to participate in the Chicago walk partially because Illinois is my home state. It is also where my Gram lives, who is an 18-year breast cancer survivor! (She is also a colon cancer survivor. She is amazing). I do everything at these events in her honor.

tower opening ceremony

The tower of names. Opening Ceremony, Charlotte

 

mom and ange crew

My Mom and I getting into the 'Mardi Gras' theme spirit!

 I’m not sure if my Mom is going to sign up to Crew again this year, or not. But as for me? I’m in it to END it.

closing ceremony

Closing Ceremony, Charlotte

 

I’m looking forward to October already!

~

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Such a great cause! Good luck with the fundraising!

    March 18, 2011
  2. I did the walk once and would like to be crew next. The crew make such a HUGE difference for the walkers. I just need my little baby to be a bit older. Maybe next year.

    March 21, 2011
  3. I always wanted to do the walk, its for such a great cause. Hope I get to do it soon.

    March 23, 2011
  4. The AVON and Susan G. Komen walks are great events. I participate in several Relay For Life events every year. I’m very passionate about being in it to end it, too!

    March 30, 2011
  5. What a great cause!!!! Awesome!

    March 31, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Land of Lincoln (and travel woes) « Musings of a violet monkey

Leave a Reply

