Skip to content

Snoozefest

I can’t seem to get into the swing of things, these days. I swear, Daylight Savings Time is STILL kicking my butt. I  have “snoozed” my alarm(s) for 45 minutes more than once in the past couple of weeks. Luckily I got my butt in gear once I finally dragged myself out of bed, and wasn’t ever late for work – but I absolutely hate to be rushed. 45 minutes?? Eeeks.

I am the crazy person that can sleep through alarms, and thus sets many, many alarms for the morning. I have my bedside alarm clock * (which I’ve had for half my life! Also – Tristan has the exact same alarm clock. We came into our first apartment 5 years ago with matching alarm clocks. How cute is that?)…

big alarm

… and I also use not one, but TWO old mobile phones with alarms… I’ve got my ancient clunky Nokia from when I lived in England (24 hr clock,baby!)…

phone alarms

… and my still old yet more recently retired flip phone…

The flip phone is awesome because it has THREE alarms that I can set. And I do. The old British phone is awesome because it is SUPER loud and vibrates at the same time. Buzz, buzz, clunk, clunk on my nightstand. It works pretty well. But NONE of them are foolproof.

I’ve used this mixture of alarms for many years… but lately, it’s just not cutting it. I’ve been on the hunt for the ‘perfect’ alarm clock for a long time… something that will MAKE me get out of bed.

Have you ever heard of “Clocky“??!? He is super-cute, and quite annoying. He is also now residing on my nightstand, as well.

meet clocky

He sounds like R2D2 on crack, and jumps down from your nightstand to ROLL AWAY FROM YOU!!! You have to hunt him down. I’m just getting the hang of using him, and can’t solely rely on him yet… but we’ll see. Maybe he will solve all of my snoozing problems!

Although it is definitely taking me a while (weeks!) to get into the swing of things with the time change, I am absolutely loving  that it is still light outside when I get home after 6pm. I love that I can go outside and play with Lilly. I love that soon, I will be able to tend to my garden after work.

However, the real problem here is this… I don’t get enough sleep. (who does?!?!). I love our bed. I love to sleep. Looooove. I usually get about 6 hours, or mayyyybe 6.5 (if I SNOOZE!) on weeknights. Is this enough sleep? No. I know that it isn’t. But, it’s the way things are. I work long, hard hours; like to cook dinner, and can’t get to bed any earlier. So, in the interest of productivity and not wanting to rushed in the a.m., I tend to set my alarm(s) for earlier than I “HAVE” to be up. As I said, I despise rushing around before work (it makes me feel flustered for the whole day!) – and I like to have time to check email, hop on the treadmill, etc. But knowing that I have that time” cushion”, sometimes makes me think “Well, I can just sleep a few more minutes and check email on my phone later”… etc, etc. And thus, I snooze. And snooze.

Have I met my match in Clocky? I certainly hope so.

Is anyone else a snooze-aholic?

~

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. I optimistically set my alarm clock for 6 AM last night. This morning at 5:30 when I woke up to feed my screaming baby, I turned the alarm off and slept until 7:30.

    I will try again tonight. 🙂

    April 6, 2011
  2. I am actually that REALLY annoying person who pops right our bed when her alarm clock goes off. My husband HATES it.

    April 6, 2011
    • Ha,ha… Oh no! I would hate that too!
      Actually I’d love to be that kind of person… lucky you!

      ~

      April 8, 2011
  3. I am a huge huge snoozer. I snoozed my 6:15 a.m. until 8:00 a.m. I’m a disaster.

    April 7, 2011
    • I love that! If I could get away with that, I would. Unfortunately I have to BE at work at 8 a.m. My first alarm goes off between 5 a.m. and 5:15. Ugh.

      ~

      April 8, 2011
  4. I’m not a snoozer now that I set my own schedule, but when I had to get up early to get ready for work I was a snoozer. My daughter is more like you. She has a few clocks set and sleeps through them all. I think I’ll get her a clocky — however she’ll probably sleep through it.

    When I saw the image of the clocky, I thought perhaps it rolled off the headboard onto your head to wake you up. Ouch.

    April 10, 2011

Leave a Reply

