Skip to content

Homey Cinco de Mayo

Last night Tristan and I celebrated Cinco de Mayo in style! Well… if not in style, (I was in my comfy pants, after all) in deliciousness at least.

I made tacos on corn tortillas, with local pastured ground chicken, and my homemade ‘taco seasoning’. I topped mine with sharp white cheddar, local romaine, chopped tomatoes, local spring onions, diced avocado and a few dollops of Greek yogurt. I think these were hands down the BEST tacos I have ever made. And I’ve made a lot. The ground chicken was unexpectedly moist and tender, I really enjoyed it. Thanks, Baucom’s Best!

chicken tacos etc

I also threw together my super easy Mexican rice, some simple black beans (un-pictured), and roasted some broccoli from the Farmer’s Market.

And of course, my personal Cinco de Mayo celebrations would not be complete without a margarita. (Full disclosure – I actually had one and a half margaritas. I had planned to have two, but I belatedly discovered that I was perilously low on Patron. Hmm… it’s in a clear bottle, I clearly should have paid more attention!). Good thing Tristan doesn’t drink margaritas. It was all for me!

angie's margarita

I don’t do the sickly sweet neon green margarita mix anymore… making your own margarita is so simple and beats that processed glow-in-the-dark junk…

Angie’s Favorite Margarita:

1 oz Patron (or tequila of choice)

1/2 oz Triple Sec

2 oz lime juice (I squeezed fresh last night, but you can also use the “Real Lime” juice in a bottle. It’s fine, I swear).

1-2 tsp finely ground cane sugar (or none at all if you want it sour)

margarita fixings

Pour all ingredients above into a cocktail shaker filled with ice, and shake for a minute. This helps to disolve the sugar, and makes it a little bit frothy (which I love).

Pour over (new) ice into your glass of choice, rimmed with salt if that’s your thing (it’s mine!).

Top off with a splash of plain seltzer (I never measure this, but it’s not much). Swirl, and serve with a wedge of lime on the rim!

~

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. I freaking love margaritas. I always order top shelf, they are so much better!!!

    May 6, 2011
  2. i’m all over that non-neon green margarita with you!

    May 10, 2011
  3. Mexican food is my favorite! I plan to eat it a lot before I move to Germany.

    May 10, 2011
  4. Errign #

    Looks like a great cinco de mayo meal – always complete with a margarita! 🙂

    May 11, 2011

Leave a Reply

