Skip to content

Stormy, Stormy Night

Last night I woke up with my heart pounding, around 12:45 a.m. Why? What just woke me up?

Oh. That.

lightning pic

(via Flickr)

Crikey!

I had only been asleep for a little more than an hour. I remember watching the end of Will Ferrell’s bit on The Daily Show, but turned the TV off right after. Sorry “Moment of Zen”. I was tired. I AM tired.

After jolting awake, and discovering that Tristan was awake, too, I got out of bed to take a look at the raging storm. Holy cow. Watching the pine trees bow and sway in the backyard, as well as the nearly constant lightning strikes, I thought that it might be a good idea to turn on the TV and see what was going on. Of course, true to form, News14Carolina was urging everyone to get up and go the lowest level of your house. So, that we did. Also, I was concerned with how Lilly was dealing with the storm. (No, she doesn’t sleep in our room. Yet. I’m working on it). So, there the three of us were, at 1:00 a.m., hanging out in the living room, until the storm passed.

I saw that down Katie’s way, things were worse… but the worst that I saw here in town was a couple of stoplights that were malfunctioning on the way to work this morning. Thankfully, we don’t have any damage to report, this time around. Just an ever-growing lack of sleep. *yawn*.

~

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. I also had a lack of sleep last night, but not due to storms. I actually really love storms… that is when they aren’t wreaking havoc on everything in their path. I think they are quite beautiful!

    May 11, 2011
    • I actually tend towards liking storms and stormy/gloomy weather as well. What I have an issue with however, is when lightning and wind get out of control. Thunder and rain? That I like. Houses on fire due to lightning… and my gazebo doing cartwheels in the yard? (which happened to us already this year), not so much.

      ~

      May 11, 2011
  2. Scary! I love a good storm, though. I’m totally the person who would get killed because I’m out taking pictures of lightning.

    May 11, 2011
    • Try as might, I could not find an actual photo of the very impressive (and scary!) lightning here in Charlotte last night. I was temporarily baffled… did no one document this? But then again, I didn’t snap any pics either. I wasn’t about to go stand outside in the fray to get a photo. ha,ha.

      ~

      May 11, 2011

Leave a Reply

