Skip to content

Snap, Crackle, Pop!

On my own for dinner last night, I decided to make my house smell like curry!

While perusing the fridge, and checking out my “must make” recipe list from my favorite blogs, I happened upon a head of cauliflower. Thus, Mama Pea’s Cracklin’ Cauliflower BEGGED to be made. This has been on my radar for quite some time (January!), but I never managed to have cauliflower at just the right time to make it. I love anything even remotely Indian-flavored, so I was pretty certain it was going to be a winner.

cauli3

I have a killer Indian Spiced Roasted Chickpea recipe that I make often, so I made a batch of that as well, and threw some on top along with some Greek yogurt. (I also snacked quite a bit on the chick peas, as they were out of the oven first, while I was waiting on the cauliflower. I could eat the whole batch of chick peas). Y.U.M.

This is a nice, mildly spiced dish… I made it pretty much per instructions, aside from the fact that I left out the ginger because I didn’t have any. Nor did I venture out in the wicked storm to pluck some fresh cilantro from my garden. Next time I would probably bump the onions up quite a bit, as you can’t go wrong with more cooked onions. Mmm. Brilliant!

cauli4

Cracklin’ Cauliflower  (lightly adapted from Peas and Thank You)

2 servings

  • 1 head of cauliflower, trimmed and cut into florets
  • 2 t. olive oil
  • 1/2 t salt, plus more to taste
  • 1 1/2 t. curry powder
  • 1/2 t. garam masala
  • 1 small chopped yellow onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 c. frozen peas
  • 2 t. lemon juice
  • pepper to taste
  • fresh cilantro for garnish (optional)

cauli1

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cut cauliflower into florets, wash and pat dry.

Put florets in a large bowl and toss with olive oil, to coat.

Add salt, curry, and garam masala, stir to coat.

Add onion, garlic, peas and lemon juice.

Season to taste with pepper and additional salt, if necessary.

Pour mixture into a baking dish, and bake for 30 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes to ensure even browning.

Garnish with fresh cilantro (if using) and serve.

cauli6

For me, this was dinner last night and lunch today… (along with the roasted chickpeas and Greek yogurt topper). My belly is happy.

~

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

