Skip to content

A Helping Hand

If you’ve been around the blogosphere this week, perhaps you’ve seen Caitlin’s post about Tonya ? Tonya Breen is a 32-year-old mother of two young boys, who was recently diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumor. She and her family live here in Charlotte; so when Caitlin did a post about her situation (they are neighbors), I decided that I wanted to get involved. I joined her online community to see if there was anything that I could do to help out. I have signed up to bring dinner to the Breen family in July and August, so far. I’d like to make it a once-a-month occurrence for as long as they need the help. It’s not much, but I hope it will help ease the burden, if only a bit.

Tonya is a very devout Christian, as I understand it (I don’t know her personally); and if you know me at all – you know that I am, well, NOT. However, something about her situation spoke to me. She is 32. I am 32. She lives here in Charlotte, as well. Lucky for her (relatively speaking, of course) she lives next door to a very well-known blogger who was able to bring her situation to our attention. I doubt I would have heard about Tonya were it not for Caitlin. I love our little blogging community, and am so proud to belong to something that can do so much good! Tonya has a site to raise money for her expected $100,000 in hospital bills and childcare expenses as she tries to beat this brain tumor. I made a small donation, but of course, wish it could be more. However, due in great part to all of the wonderful people in the blogging community, she has collected over $15,000 in just a few short days. It’s truly amazing.

She seems to have an amazing attitude about all of this, which is truly inspiring. I doubt I would be able to be so positive through something like this.

Again, if you’d like to help Tonya and her family out, please see her site here.

~

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

