Skip to content

Paws

Saturday morning we took Lilly to the vet. For the past couple of weeks she has been gnawing on her feet. This is a new thing, and not something I’ve ever seen her do. I first noticed it the day after I returned home from Illinois, and thought that perhaps it had been a stress reaction to my being gone (who loves her mama!?!). But, a week later it had only gotten worse, so I hit the Internet for answers… and what I came up with, was allergies. Allergies?! Now, I for one suffer from allergies. All the damn time. In fact, the past month or so, mine have been OUT OF CONTROL. But… allergies for Lilly… making her attack her feet? This was new to me. So… off to the vet we went.

Lilly's paw

Lilly will happily get in the car, but once we start to move, she doesn’t like it. She paces, she won’t sit down, she does her nervous yawning, etc. I want her to like the car. As of right now, she really does not.

For the journey there (which takes about 20 minutes), we tried a new doggie seatbelt for her. It did not go well. She was able to get herself all kinds of twisted up before we had even left the neighborhood. So much for that one.  I have a different seatbelt picked out and am going to order it later this week. We’ll give the whole concept another go. I’d really like her to be safe (and calm!) in the car. Hopefully the new one will be more comfortable and functional.

This is what riding in the car with Lilly feels like sometimes… Eeeeee!

crazy angie lilly car

Whenever we pull up to the vet office she is SO excited to get inside! She pulls on her leash in the parking lot like mad (something she NEVER does normally). She’s happy to be there, we think – but then she proceeds to act like a fraidy cat. She’s very cautious when meeting new people, (which I actually really appreciate), and she kept throwing us “why are doooooing this to me” glances, I swear!

waiting for dr

I went back with her to get weighed and we discovered she lost 4 lbs. since March. I guess a summer weight-loss? Fur weight loss? All of the above? I was a little concerned (10% weight-loss in  just a few months seems a bit extreme) but the vet assured us that her weight is “perfect”.

chill at vet

He looked at her paws, and indeed, diagnosed her with “allergies”. She’s going to be on Prednisone for the next week and a half – which will hopefully clear her issues up. If not, I guess we go back and try something else? Paws crossed we don’t have to.

lilly car

Do your pets like to ride in the car?

Have you ever had to deal with your pets having seasonal allergies?!?

~

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Your dog is adorable! My golden retriever LOVES riding in the car and always gets so excited when i take her along for a ride. She makes me put the window down for her so she can stick her head out, hehe. 🙂

    July 11, 2011
  2. Doggy allergies, how precious. Sweet little thing, she’s super cute.

    July 11, 2011
  3. Alisa #

    Poor dog! Our lab was born with allergies, talk to your vet about giving her Benadryl. We give it to him with his food and it helps quite a bit. He chews himself raw if we don’t keep up on it.

    July 22, 2011

Leave a Reply

