Skip to content

Key Lime Frozen Yogurt

froyo7

About a year ago, a friend let me “borrow” her Ice Cream maker (This model). Last summer when my real food way of life hit hard and fast, I had the bright idea to make my own frozen yogurt and ice cream. (I love me some Yoforia, but don’t like to look at all of the ingredients contained therein Stonyfield yogurt or not!).

However, I never managed to 1). have enough room in my freezer for the canister (*it’s very important to freeze the canister for 24 hours before attempting to make anything in it!) or 2). have enough forethought to have actually PUT the canister in the freezer when the urge to froyo happened.

Until now.

froyo1

The easiest and tastiest* (*so what if I’ve only made it once so far!?) homemade frozen yogurt, ever.

All you need are three, terribly easy to get your hands on, ingredients.

In the mix:

32 oz container Stonyfield Organic Whole Milk Vanilla Yogurt

1/2 c. Nellie & Joe’s Key Lime Juice

1 can Eagle brand Fat-Free Sweetened Condensed Milk

Now, the fat-free sweetened condensed milk is not my favorite ingredient ever, as far as real food goes; but it is important for thickening (and eliminates that annoying cook the milk stage of ice cream making). And after all – this IS dessert, right? And as for the whole milk yogurt – I would have preferred to use a low-fat/2% style, but wanted to see what sort of consistency the good stuff had – so I know where the bar is set. Now I feel comfortable enough to play around with different levels of fat and see what happens.

Add all of your ingredients into a bowl, mix well to combine and then add to the frozen bowl of your ice cream maker and follow your particular maker’s instructions for freezing.

For this Cuisinart model I mixed it for 30 minutes, then covered the top with clingfilm, and stuck it back in the freezer for a couple of hours to fully set.

Then, all you have to do is scoop and enjoy. Graham cracker crumblies optional.

froyo ingredientsfroyo2froyo3froyo6

Holy deliciousness!

froyo5

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. I have that ice cream maker. This looks really good. Even though I’m lactose intolerant, I do sometimes eat a little ice cream — and yogurt rarely bothers me.

    August 10, 2011
  2. This post makes me want to run out and buy an ice cream maker! This looks divine!

    August 10, 2011

Leave a Reply

