Skip to content

Pickled

pickles13

I don’t can anything. There are times I think that I would like to… but then I think… sterilizing. boiling water. tongs and slippery jars. botulism. No thanks! 

I have an admitted addiction to Ball jars, however – and If you know me at all, you know I’d rather make it myself, than buy it. But canning? Meh. Maybe 2012 will be the year I learn to can. But not now. Now, I want pickles, and I want them fast. These are fantastic “refrigerator pickles”, that only take a few minutes to whip up – and a few hours of patience to wait for. The only downside – their shelf life is only about 2 weeks. But that is okay – they tend to disappear long before that anyhow!

Luckily, this is the perfect time of year to pick up some delicious pickling cucumbers at your local Farmers’ Market. (When the season is over, I will continue making these with English/hothouse cukes).

Want pickles in 6 hours? These are for you.

pickles3

pickles8

pickles11

pickles12

pickles14

pickles17

Easy-Peasy Pickles

Ingredients:

  • 6 medium sized pickling cucumbers (or English cucumber, if pickling ones aren’t available)
  • 3/4 c. white vinegar
  • 1 TBSP kosher salt
  • 1 TBSP granulated cane sugar
  • 1 TBSP whole peppercorns
  • 1 TBSP whole coriander seeds
  • 4 cloves of garlic, roughly chopped
  • several sprigs of fresh dill (just eyeball it – I think I used 7?)

Directions:

Mix the salt and sugar into the vinegar and stir to dissolve. Set aside.

Wash and scrub your cucumbers well, as we are leaving the skin on!

Then, slice the cucumbers any which way you like… I like chips.

Get a clean 1 quart jar, and layer in the cucumbers… nestling the dills sprigs and garlic chunks throughout.

Add the peppercorns and coriander seeds.

Pour your vinegar mixture over the top, and add water to completely cover the cucumbers.

Screw lid on tight, give the jar a few shakes to distribute the spices and refrigerate immediately.

Your pickles will be ready in 6 hours (though I usually wait 12 hours – but it is difficult!).

Eat within two weeks.

 

pickles15

~

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Wow, look at how beautiful they are! I think you might become an addicted canner!

    August 16, 2011

Leave a Reply

